Bacon Lombardi Trophy

There’s been a lot of press about this so I gotta get this post up.  Thank you to Andrew Loos and BBQ Addicts for introducing the world to the Bacon Lombardi and for putting up the first post.

It all started when Chris Martin, my roommate and VFX compositor extraordinairre made a rockin flyer for Bacon Bowl II.  Once I saw it, I knew it had to be made a reality.

Bacon Bowl II: Electric Boogaloo

I couldn’t figure out how to do it though.  I thought about the Bacon explosion but I didn’t think I could get enough structural integrity to make it in 3D.  Come on now, Avatar in 3D has changed the game.  I couldn’t just make a trophy on a sheet pan.  It had to stand.

So, I grabbed a big hunk of ham.  IT was actually hard to find something unsliced but I found what I needed and started slicing away.

And for the ball, the only thing that goes great with ham and bacon and resembles a football to boot.  A pineapple!

And then…  Apply Bacon!  I just kept using as many toothpicks as I could to try and avoid dreaded shrinkage.

I would have smoked it, but I knew I was going to be smoking some salmon (thank you Alton Brown.  The ladies always love it!) and possibly Allan’s stuffed mushrooms, and who knows what else.  I was just never going to have room in my smoker.  Maybe that just means it’s time to step it up and get a bigger one.

A little while after throwing it in the oven, I heard a dreaded thump.  The Bacombardi had fallen over.  Time to get into grip mode and shore that thing up for the slow cook I was planning on.

And finally I had a finished product!

And here are the pics that are already all over the interwebs thanks to BBQaddicts.com and Intentional Foul.

AND, I just found out today, we made the evening news on WKRC in Cincinnati.  Check it out!

Tags:

One Response to “Bacon Lombardi Trophy”

  1. Alisha Says:

    Wow! Quite impressive. That masterpiece takes a lot of creativity and….well, bacon. Nice work! What is next???

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

